Comment are off

Forty-Six Flour Bluff HS students participate in VASE competition; Nine art pieces advancing to state

Flour Bluff High School art students participated in the Texas Art Educators Association, Regional VASE (Visual Art Scholastic Event) Saturday, February 23, at Gregory Portland High School. 

Participating students submit up to two original works of art under the guidance of their art teacher for adjudication. The works of art are “qualified” by a panel of qualifications judges prior to being juried. Criteria includes a written intent, original sources including sketches, notes, photos taken by the student and other specifications. Qualified artwork is juried through an interview and evaluation of their artwork and written intent.

Eighteen high schools participated in the regional VASE competition with 460 works of art juried overall. FBHS had 71 works of art juried; 60 received Superior IV Ratings and medaled. Medaling Superior Rating IV works of art advanced to a separate round of adjudication to determine which pieces advance to state.

Only 36 works of art advanced to state from the regional VASE competition. Out of 11 schools who had students advance to state, FBHS has 9 works of art advancing to state, the most advancing from the region.

Students advancing to State include:
Emma Hopkins
Elizabeth Kemp
Anna Larsen (2 works of art advancing)
Marlena Osgood (2 works of art advancing)
Kayla-Ann McKamie
Madison Stafford
Valentina Torres-Corssy

Hats off to all the students who took part in this year’s VASE Regional competition:
Sarah Bervinkle
Kariece Bowles
Kylie Bunting
Jacob Burns
Kate Campbell
Rowan Campion
Jordan Chitty
Tatiana Cortez
Reese Cronin
Iris Galvez
Jamie Guest
Emma Hopkins
Emilie Howard
Vanassa Jimison
Jacob Jones
Kyra Kaiser
Alyssa Kennett
Charlie King
Katherine King
Anna Larsen
Angela Liu
Joanna Liu
Mia Marin
Megan May
Kayla-Ann McKamie
Helen Mlady
Nicholas Morales
Miguel Moreno
Payden Mouritsen
Ioana Murgulet
Claire Naismith
Merrina O’Hagan Lopez
Ally Reynolds
Haley Reynolds
Bella Rogoff
Olivia Rioux
Kalia Rivera
Olivia Saldanca
Kaitlyn Seefeldt
Claudia Sharp
Rebekah Snowden
Madison Stafford
Eryn Steiner
Florisol Torres
Valentina Torres-Corssy
Kalli Vantilburg